Chicken and Lentil Soup

#THankful Thursdays (1)

I made chicken stock and lentil soup. I usually make chicken stock after I have butchered the chicken. You have read about these recipes posted for #foodiefridays. I rarely make a recipe the same way twice because I may not have certain ingredients and I don’t let that hold me back. I like to test out how adding or omitting some ingredients changes up a recipe. I also like to add ingredients that fit the palate of those who eat it. My Hubs and I like our foods on the spicy side. If you do, too, add more than the recipe calls for, however, if you don’t, omit the cayenne pepper, altogether. I usually make this dish when I have a good two hours. It makes 6 servings, so I usually take the rest and separate them into single servings in containers and freeze them. I will eat them over lunch throughout the week.

Ingredients:
Remaining chicken from butchering (bones with some meat left over)
6 cups of water
Whole onion, sliced thin
5 carrots, peeled and sliced
2 cloves of garlic
Half handful of peppercorns
1/8 tsp parsley
Salt
Pepper
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
2 cups of lentils

1. Boil the chicken, onion, carrots, and peppercorn in water for 45 minutes
2. Separate the contents from the broth
3. Let the broth sit so that the fat settles to the top, either skim the fat from the top with a spoon, or MacGyver the fat removal
4. With the contents in another bowl, pick the meat off the chicken bones
5. Discard the bones
6. Pick out the garlic and the peppercorns (you can also leave them in, if you wish, but make sure the peppercorns get blended in well in the next step, the puree process.
7. Take the carrots, onions, and chicken and blend it in a food processor or blender until pureed (“pureed contents”)
8. Take chicken broth, pureed contents, and lentils (after they are washed and picked over), and add them into a pot. Also, add parsley, cayenne pepper, salt, and pepper, then boil for 30 minutes.

Serve alone of with french bread crostini. French bread crostini will be covered on the next #foodiefridays post.

Leave a Reply

