Kick-Start Your Mornings with Lemon Water and Not Your Ordinary Oatmeal

START

I’ll be posting this for Well-being Wednesday and Foodie Friday. There’s a two-part to today’s blog article: 1) wellness  and 2) smart breakfasting to cover two blog categories.

Wellness

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. A good breakfast will ensure you have proper energy stores until mid-morning, depending on how early you ate breakfast. However, what you put into your body may create an acidic environment. What exactly does this mean? According to a 1995 American Dietetic  Association Study, this means consuming acidic foods contribute to reduced kidney function, which can lead to muscle and bone breakdown.

Today is my second day out of 6 days, taking my pH three times in the morning in order to minimize an acidic environment in my body. I have also started being more conscious about the type of foods I put into my body.

I have started to kick my caffeine and sugar habit for two weeks and take on a more whole foods and alkaline diet. Refined grains and animal protein sources contribute to an acidic environment. I have also replaced my white sugar with coconut crystals.

Smart Breakfasting

My Ordinary Oatmeal used to be instant oatmeal, with 2% fat milk, organic cinnamon,  raw almonds, and honey.

Not Your Ordinary Oatmeal cuts out the 2% milk for whole milk and instead of the raw almonds, chia seeds and peanut butter. The almonds are fine, however, I added chia seeds and peanut butter for a kick of protein in the morning. If you’re vegetarian, you can substitute coconut milk or almond milk for the bovine milk.

Here is the Foodie Friday Recipe:

Place into a microwavable bowl the following contents:
1/2 packet of plain instant Oatmeal – steel-cut oatmeal is ideal
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 tbsp natural peanut butter
1 tbsp of honey
Sprinkle on cinnamon
1/2 cup of whole milk, or coconut milk or almond milk

Microwave for 2 minutes, stir it up, and serve warm.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

